birthday surprise!

12 Jun

Last night Rikki took me to dinner to celebrate my birthday! I really thought the dinner was my gift and was so surprised when she pulled this bag out from hiding. Seriously, this girl did SUCH a great job! Normally I tell people not to get me anything, not because I don’t want anything hah, but because I am NOT good at making what my sister refers to as The Face. You know, the face you make when you open gifts. I can absolutely love the gift, but my face won’t show it so people spend the next few minutes asking if I really do like it and reminding me that there is a receipt in the bag if I want to return it. I feel so bad so I just tell people I want to spend time with them instead. Win/Win.

But there was NO denying that I had a proper reaction when I opened this gift. It was such a thoughtful gift and so sweet and such a surprise!

So, what did she get me?!

First, cupcakes from Sugar Bliss. Holy delicious sugar. Our plates weren’t cleared for more than 15 seconds before we devoured these!

Second, a bamboo plant for my office! Sarah bought me a bamboo plant for my apartment when she came to visit a couple years ago, so this one is now sitting on my post-it covered desk at work. Everyone needs a little luck at work too. 🙂

Third, and definitely most The Face producing gift, A GONG!! What I love is that she knew I wanted one based off of this post even though I didn’t specifically say I wanted one. When I opened this up I nearly cried. Lame, I know. But it was just that nice of her. Rikki = most thoughtful gift buyer. Now I get to actually bang a gong when I get home from work.

THANK YOU RIKKI!! I had such a great time talking and laughing too loudly. Can’t wait for next time!! 

4 Responses to “birthday surprise!”

  1. Rikki June 12, 2012 at 1:13 pm #

    Yay!! (or should I say Tatty!!) I’m so glad you loved everything! It was so fun hanging out and we will do it again soon! Promise! Love you, LOML!

    • Sarah June 12, 2012 at 1:17 pm #

      hahahaa tatty! I DID love everything and can’t wait to go home tonight so I can bang the gong. Let’s plan for a dinner when you get back from your vacation 🙂 Love you too, LOML!

  2. Melissa June 13, 2012 at 3:48 am #

    Oh wow! What a wonderful birthday gift! Amazing – I never knew a bamboo meant good luck (our bamboo obviously doesn’t adhere to this idea)! and those cupcakes. I would inhale them.

    PS – worst penpal ever yet?! Not any more. First correspondence sent today!:)

    Have a good day!!

    • Sarah June 13, 2012 at 1:35 pm #

      hahaha, in the couple of years I’ve had my bamboo plant at home I’ve managed to kill a stalk. Those suckers are supposed to be indestructible. oops!!

      PS – Don’t you even worry about it! After keeping up with you I can see that you’re very busy filling out those score cards 😉 But I can’t wait to get your letter!! I haven’t gotten any fun mail at my new apartment yet… so yay!

      You have a good day too dearie!

Leave a Reply

