the gong

14 May

A few weeks ago my sister told a story about how a woman on Oprah wanted to take a year long sabbatical, but financially couldn’t afford it. Instead, she went to work everyday as usual and as she walked into her house each night she would bang a gong to signify that work was over and she was free to do as she pleased.

To say that I loved that story would be an understatement. I’ve been complaining (too much) about not having time to get everything done that I want to get done or try new things. I felt like I wasted my days away in a windowless office and by the time I get home I was too tired to want to do much. Until I heard the story about the gong.

Instantly I had a new outlook on my time. I don’t have an unlimited amount of time to work with, but I do have time. Since realizing this I have been much more productive. I spent more time being upset about not having time instead of just getting things done. It amazes me how much I can get done in a short amount of time. Whether it’s a quick apartment cleanup, going for a run, running errands, hanging out with friends, or just doing something I enjoy. I no longer dread my commute home because I know it’ll be 45 minutes of uninterrupted reading. While dinner is cooking I make sure to tackle one or two tasks.

And let me tell you… weekends have been SO much more relaxing! I used to be so bummed that I only had 2 days off and then it hit me… I have TWO days to do with as I please. How great is that! I try not to think about work (too much) on the weekends and it has helped me enjoy them and be more productive.

Gong // Gong

[via]

5 Responses to “the gong”

  1. Natalie May 14, 2012 at 10:53 am #

    I love this! I’m totally going to look for a little gong now! Sometimes I have a hard time turning off my brain for all my to-do lists I keep when I get home…but multitasking during dinner always seems to help 🙂

    • Sarah May 15, 2012 at 9:12 am #

      Yes!! You totally should! Over the last couple of weeks I have tried to write a list of 3 things I want to get done when I get home. Usually it’s 2 simple-ish things and one bigger thing. I don’t always get to all 3 things, but I do more than I would have otherwise 🙂

  2. Caitlin May 23, 2012 at 3:09 pm #

    This is so great! I heard someone say that they treated 5pm to bedtime like mini weekends. Like, wow! At 5 o’clock I get to be off work and I don’t have to go back until tomorrow!! I loved this idea, and I try to remember it when I’m schlepping home from work 🙂 It’s my mini-weekend, time for some pinot!!

    • Sarah May 24, 2012 at 10:52 am #

      Yes! It makes my off hours feel like mini-weekends and it makes my weekend feel like a mini vacation! Pass the pinot my way too, please 😉

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. birthday surprise! « City Thoughts… - June 12, 2012

    […] most The Face producing gift, A GONG!! What I love is that she knew I wanted one based off of this post even though I didn’t specifically say I wanted one. When I opened this up I nearly cried. […]

Leave a Reply

