Satisfied

16 Mar

Satisfied – by Jewel

If you love somebody
You better let it out
Don’t hold it back
While you’re trying to figure it out
Don’t be timid
Don’t be afraid to hurt
Run toward the flame
Run toward the fire
Hold on for all your worth
Cause the only real pain a heart can ever know
Is the sorrow of regret
When you don’t let your feelings show

So did you say it
Did you mean it
Did you lay it on the line
Did you make it count
Did you look ’em in the eye
Did they feel it
Did you say it in time
Did you say it out loud
’cause if you did hun
Then you lived some
That feeling inside
That’s called satisfied

Busy people walking by
Can’t help but worry some
With so many things to do
So little love gets done
Empty hearts everywhere

Drowning but dying of thirst
If you want love
It’s not that tough
Start by giving it first
It’s so easy to give
Baby can’t you see
Just close your eyes open your heart
And do what comes naturally

Well did you say it
Did you mean it
Did you lay it on the line
Did you make it count
Did you look ’em in the eye
Did they feel it
Did you say it in time
Did you say it out loud
’cause if you did hun
Then you lived some
That feeling inside
That’s called satisfied

Horses are built to run
The sun is meant to shine above
Flowers are made to bloom
And then there’s us
We were born to love

****

Goodness. I love that song. It’s my go-to song to listen to when I need to feel better.

(goes to grooveshark)

I’m in a bit of a rut.

And it kind of sucks.

What gets me is that I can’t say things are going badly. Things are going well at my job, the weather is beautiful, I have a loving (and hilarious) boyfriend, a supportive (and hilarious) best friend, a wonderfully supportive family, friends that refill my wine glass when I tell them I’ve had a hard week, I live 10 minutes from the lake, etc. etc.

When I think of all those things I start to feel bad that I’m not happy all the time. I should be… right?

Then I realized something.

Yes, I am in a funk, but all those things are GOOD. I keep thinking about the people I know that look so so happy all the time and then realize that I probably look that way to them. I save all my bitterness and bad moods for those closest to me. I’m glad I have people I can genuinely express myself around, but these are also the same people I want to give all my loving to.

No, things aren’t perfect, but I think I just need to focus on what’s good and sort/build/go from here.

****

Happy Friday kids! I hope you celebrate the HECK out of St. Patrick’s Day! I know I will πŸ˜‰

xoxo

3 Responses to “Satisfied”

  1. CJ Hines March 16, 2012 at 12:54 pm #

    Like, like, LIKE!!

  2. Erin March 16, 2012 at 5:44 pm #

    I love that song, too! When I have it in my car it goes on repeat, every time.

    We’ve talked about this before, but I also think it’s about having things (hobbies, interests, things to be curious about) that keep you going, too. For instance, just learning to cook a little bit better has made me happier. Each meal doesn’t stress me out as much; I look forward to the actual cooking and mealtimes. πŸ™‚

    I *still* don’t know how to celebrate St. Patrick’s Day as a “regular” person! haha

    • Sarah March 20, 2012 at 2:22 pm #

      I completely agree. It also helps me to not get grumpy at 2 or 6 PM every day πŸ˜‰

Leave a Reply

