leap day!

1 Mar

Leap Day is one of my favorite days everrrr.

And I really do mean EVER. It feels so special. And happy. Especially yesterday, people! It was 60 degrees, sunny, and BEAUTIFUL.

I love that every 4 years we get to have an extra day to do with as we please.

Unfortunately I woke up yesterday feeling like CRAP from my itty bitty cold (that turned into a can’t-sleep-or-breathe thing overnight). After I slept in a bit I doped myself up on cold meds and slept a bit longer. Bummer way to start my day, for sure. After a second round of cold meds I KNEW I had to get outside. I had a couple of things I had to do that required me to go to the burbs so off I went.

While I was getting ready that morning I came up with the most brilliant Leap Day surprise! (I borrowed the idea from Corey 😉 ) I told Corey last weekend that I’d bake him cupcakes from scratch but, you see, I didn’t. I don’t like to let my man down, so I thought I’d buy some cupcakes and hand deliver them to his office. That’s almost the same thing, right??

 There was almost a snag in my surprise when I texted him asking how busy he was on a scale of 1-10. His answer: 8. Whaaa?? In my mind meant that he was probably to busy to come get his surprise, but it all worked out in the end. He was leaving to run an errand during lunch and I met him just in the nick of time! It was Leap Day fate!

I had wanted to take pictures of the cupcakes, but by the time I remembered it was almost too late. They were DE-LISH!

We hugged for 3 minutes and quickly talked about how our days were going before he had to head off for his lunchtime errands. It was totally worth it to get to sneak in a few minutes with him 🙂

That was, by far, the highlight of my Leap Day. After that I went off to do another quick thing, returned Erin’s car (thanks for driving me home, Erin!), and went to hang out with my boo the rest of the night where I may or may not have fallen in the kitchen while standing [almost] perfectly still… twice.

2 Responses to “leap day!”

  1. Rachel March 1, 2012 at 2:08 pm #

    hahaha you’re a crack up! yum to the cupcakes and hope you’re feeling better!

    thanks for stopping by my blog…hope you enjoy the s’mores sticks!

    • Sarah March 5, 2012 at 9:14 am #

      thanks!! I’m feeling MUCH better 🙂

      I made the s’more sticks over the weekend and oh.my.gosh! Even better than I expected.

Leave a Reply

