Snowy candles

6 Dec

My friend’s birthday was this past Friday so I took that opportunity to try something I saw on Pinterest. It’s super, super, super simple. I mean, I could do it…

I made snowy candles! They seem like the perfect fit for winter/Christmas/NYE/Rikki’s birthday… she likes sparkly things 🙂

Here’s what you need:

Candles. I chose white because I wanted a clean look. These also have the scent of “fresh linens” and they really do smell good!

Mod Podge. I had never bought or used this before and now I’m in love. Seriously, why have I not listened to the 57 DIY blogs I read? It’s easy to use and (thankfully) easy to clean up.

Glitter. This was the super fun part. I picked a really white glitter and one with color specks throughout. For Rikki’s candle I used mostly the white with a little of the white/color. I bought the red glitter for another candle idea I have.

Also, I used one of my Pyrex baking dishes as a glitter catcher.

This is so excitingly easy. Check it out…

Step 1: Make sure candle is fairly clean… you know, just make sure there aren’t any little waxy pieces that are sticking out.

Step 2: Mod Podge your candle. I didn’t take pictures of the MP step because me + glue + a camera = a bad idea. All you do is take a foam paint brush and paint a thin coat of it on the candle. It’s that simple.

Step 3: Well, I started by sprinkling the glitter on the candle, but then gave up and just poured a bunch in the baking dish and rolled the candle in it. It was much easier to do it that way. IMO.

Step 4: Brush the excess glitter off the candle back into the dish.

Step 5: Ooooh! Glitter!

Step 6: Ooooh! Glitter!

I wanted to take a picture of the candle lit, but since I was giving it to Rikki for her birthday I didn’t think I should. It was bad enough that I “wrapped” it in a Ziploc bag. Go me! It’s the thought that counts, right Rik?!

So voila! I did it! After months of pinning things I have finally actually done something from one of them. Yes, it was simple, but it’s pretty and sparkly.

I like pretty and sparkly.

2 Responses to “Snowy candles”

  1. Rikki January 18, 2012 at 10:31 pm #

    I just realized I’m mentioned in another part of your blog!’ love it! (the post AND the candle) and love you!!!

    • Sarah January 20, 2012 at 8:51 am #

      Yay!! I’m glad you like it… and love you too!!

Leave a Reply

