So very thankful

24 Nov

The past couple years, and the past 10 months especially, have been difficult for me and my family. I feel like I have grown and learned enough to know that in spite of it all I am blessed. I have so very much to be thankful for.

I am so thankful for my mom. Both as my mom and as the woman she was. I am so proud to have called her my mom, my friend, my secret keeper, the worlds best hugger, the person who would keep me in line, my teacher, and the strongest female influence I will ever have. She taught me how to fight for the good, how to stay strong, that it’s okay to cry, how to love, and how to be the woman I am today. The holidays will never be the same without her, but I am so very thankful for the love she showered me with during my 23 years with her.

I am so thankful for my dad. Both as my dad and the man he is. My dad has three daughters, loves every minute of it, and isn’t afraid to tell people he loves it. His love and support and sense of humor is what has helped me through the hardest moments and has lifted me higher during the good moments. There is nothing like a dad who loves his daughter.

I am so thankful for my sisters. I love that I’m from a family of all girls who grew up sharing a bathroom, clothes, and experiences. These are the two people who will always be able to bring me back to my childhood and encourage me through life in a way nobody else can.

I am so thankful for my boyfriend. He shows me love in so many ways and has allowed me to show him my love back. He makes me think about things in a different way and makes me laugh until I cry. His ability to say the right thing at the right time is amazing and I appreciate him. When I hug him I know life is good.

I am so thankful for my brothers-in-law. They provide a different kind of love than anyone else. I didn’t grow up with brothers so it has been an adventure.

I am so thankful for my nephews and niece. Talk about living life to the fullest. These munchkins help me through everything, but more than anything they show me what it means to live happily. When I am with them I play and laugh more. I have loved watching them grow up so far and am thrilled to see the people they are and are becoming.

I am so thankful for my friends. These people keep me on my toes. They are some of the most loving and honest people I have ever met in my entire life. They let me tell my 3 hour long stories and want to tell me theirs. They are the people I call with my random stories and miss when I haven’t seen them for a few days. They let me be me.

I am thankful for my job, my apartment, my heated blanket, nail polish, and my ability to make dinners without completely messing up.

Happy Thanksgiving!

Leave a Reply

