52/52: Book 1 – The Bluest Eye by Toni Morrison

13 Sep

Book 1: The Bluest Eye

Author: Toni Morrison

No. of Pages: 206

Started: September 1, 2011

Finished: September 10, 2011

Description [from goodreads.com]: The Bluest Eye is Toni Morrison’s first novel, a book heralded for its richness of language and boldness of vision. Set in the author’s girlhood hometown of Lorain, Ohio, it tells the story of black, eleven-year-old Pecola Breedlove. Pecola prays for her eyes to turn blue so that she will be as beautiful and beloved as all the blond, blue-eyed children in America. In the autumn of 1941, the year the marigolds in the Breedloves’ garden do not bloom. Pecola’s life does change- in painful, devastating ways.
What its vivid evocation of the fear and loneliness at the heart of a child’s yearning, and the tragedy of its fulfillment. The Bluest Eye remains one of Tony Morrisons’s most powerful, unforgettable novels- and a significant work of American fiction.

My Thoughts: Amazing. This book definitely took me longer to get through than I had intended. Every time I picked it up I had the same feeling, like I wasn’t sure I was going to like what was on the next page, but I just had to know what was on the next page. This feeling kept me from being able to pick it up all that often, but when I did I couldn’t put it down.

Although I finished it 3 days ago, I still feel like I need more time to gather my thoughts on it and be able to truly write what I think. I will update another time with more thoughts and details.

(52/52: the official challenge!)

Leave a Reply

