skydiving

2 Aug

Where do I start?

Thursday I got a text from a friend asking if I would go with her while she went skydiving. I told her yes, as long as I didn’t have to go anywhere near the plane or in the air. She told me that not only would I need a ticket to go up in the plane too, but I’d have to pay for it. Sold! This seemed like a win-win situation to me… she got someone to go with her and drive her home and I got to spend a day out in the burbs hanging out with her!

Her appointment was for 1PM so we left around 11:30 and just barely made it for 1PM and she still had to watch the flight orientation video. We ended up standing around after she watched the video for at least couple hours. That’s when it happened.

Somehow, (I truly don’t know how) after 90 minutes of Sylwia trying to convince me to skydive with her she finally did. Sylwia convinced me to go skydiving. SKYDIVING. As in, going up in a [perfectly good] airplane only to jump from it from 14,000 feet in the air. Let me tell ya, 14,000 feet is really high. And cold. It was probably 95 degrees on the ground and probably 75 degrees in the air. I got the honors of sitting across from the door and feeling it get colder and colder. Oh, that’s another thing… did you know that they only let you wear your seatbelt the first 2000 feet up and then they unbuckle you? All the while leaving the door to the plane open. Who decided that was a good idea?

Well, it goes without saying that I lived. Not only did I live, but I had the most awesome time EVER! I can’t say I’ll be jumping again anytime soon, but seriously, it was so amazing. Here are some pictures from our day…

This was such an exciting moment! My pal Jackson said earlier that he’d point to the big orange pully and that would be my cue to pull it and the parachute would open. I did it!! Such an incredible moment!

That was, by far, the most incredible and crazy thing I have ever done! Thank you to Sylwia for encouraging me (over and over!) and asking me to go with you.

Leave a Reply

