Stanley’s dinner

16 Jul

Yesterday I went to Stanley’s, an amazing grocery store in Chicago where you can get great fruits, veggies, meats, breads, etc. Shopping trips to Stanley’s always makes me so happy because I can walk up to the check-out line and know that my debit card won’t catch on fire when I swipe it.
So! Here’s muh goodies! I bought one giant carrot, asparagus, zucchini, yellow squash, mushrooms, an onion, along with potatoes, nectarines, bananas, and other yummy stuff I can’t remember. Remember how I said that my debit card didn’t catch on fire when I swiped it? That’s because all that food was only $12!! What you see in the picture is only a portion of what I got. I made out, kids!

Now, the fun part. Cooking it!!

First, I sauteed the onion and carrot (in olive oil, with some salt) since they take longer. My pan isn’t that big, so next time I’d cut the carrots smaller. I usually do, but I was so excited about this dinner that I just wanted to get cookin’. Don’t judge the carrots that are all over the stove, I had issues.

After the onion and carrot have softened, I add in the other veggies. About a minute after that I add in some paprika. I add paprika to… everything. It’s definitely my go-to spice. It goes with everything!

The next, and last, step is to saute it until you think it’s done!

Voila! My Stanley’s dinner! I ate this, and then I ate some more of this. And then I ate more of it for lunch the next day. (I make a lot) Nothing beats that first meal after going to Stanley’s… especially in the middle of summer where everything is at its freshest. So good!

Leave a Reply

